Faculty Board

Terms of Reference

Faculty Board is a body established by the Faculty Council Constitution and is "responsible for fulfilling and executing the powers and duties of the Faculty Council relating to the academic policies of the University on the Council's behalf in consultation with the Steering Committee of Faculty Council." Faculty Board normally meets prior to each Senate meeting and receives and considers various proposals that will be made to Senate, notably with respect to matters of academic policy and new programming. Faculty Board also acts as an academic advisory committee to the President and the President's senior academic advisors. Faculty Board also receives regular updates from administrators regarding issues of importance to faculty including staffing, enrolment, and integrated planning.


  • Provost & Vice President Academic (Chair, as delegated by the President)
  • President & Vice-Chancellor
  • Vice President Research & Innovation
  • Dean of Arts & Science (Humanities)
  • Dean of Arts & Science (Social Sciences)
  • Dean of Arts & Science (Science)
  • Dean, School of Graduate Studies
  • Dean, Trent/Fleming School of Nursing
  • Dean, School of Education & Professional Learning
  • Head, Trent University Durham
  • University Registrar
  • University Librarian
  • Director, Trent International Program
  • Chairs/Directors of Academic Units (undergraduate and graduate programs/departments; schools)
  • Three at-large members of the Faculty Council Steering Committee
  • TUFA representative, appointed by the Trent University Faculty Association Executive Committee
  • CUPE representative, appointed by the part-time members of the University staff.

Terms of Reference developed 16 August 2010 based on the Faculty Council Constitution (Revised 15 September 1989, 1 November 1991, 29 October 1993, 24 March 2000, 8 April 2005)