expand search

Philosophy

Dr. Moira Howes smiling at the camera in front of a bookcase of books

Philosophy

Faculty & Research

Full-Time Faculty

Leo Groarke

Professor; Trent University President and Vice-Chancellor
B.A. (Calgary), M.A. (Calgary), Ph.D. (Western)

Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy; Social and Political Philosophy; Informal Logic; Argumentation Theory

 

 

 

 

Michael Hickson

Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Western)

Office: EC N 113, Phone: (705) 748-1011 x 7278, Email:  michaelhickson@trentu.ca, michaelhickson.net

Research Interests: Early Modern Philosophy; Epistemology (especially skepticism); Ethics

 

Moira Howes

Associate Professor
B.Sc., M.A., Ph.D.

Office: GCS 347,  Phone: (705) 748-1011 x 7108, Email: mhowes@trentu.ca

Research Interests: Philosophy of Science (especially biology); Epistemology; Metaphysics; Practical Reasoning

 

 

 

Douglas McDermid

Professor
B.A. (Western), M.A., Ph.D. (Brown)

Office: CC G13, Phone: (705) 748-1011 x 7099, Email:  dmcdermi@trentu.ca

Research Interests: Metaphysics; Epistemology; Modern Philosophy

 

Kathryn Norlock

Associate Professor; Kenneth Mark Drain Endowed Chair in Ethics
Ph.D. (Wisconsin-Madison)

Office: EC N 119, Phone: (705) 748-1011 x 7449, Email: kathrynnorlock@trentu.ca

Research Interests: Ethics; Feminist philosophy; Environmental philosophy; Sociopolitical issues

 

 

 

Byron Stoyles

Associate Professor; Department Chair
B.A. (Huron University College), M.A., Ph.D. (Western)

Office:  EC S118.4, Phone: (705)748-1011 x6040, Email: byronstoyles@trentu.ca

Research Interests: Ancient Philosophy; Ethical Theory; Applied Ethics; Death and end-of-life issues

 

 

 

 

 

Limited Term Appointments (2018-19)

Amanda Bryant

Assistant Professor

 

Sasa Stankovic

Assistant Professor

 

Michael Walschots

Assistant Professor

 

Professors Emeriti

Constantin V. Boundas

cboundas@cogeco.ca

M.A., Ph.D. (Purdue)

 

John W. Burbidge

johnwburbidge@gmail.com

 

Robert Carter

rcarter@trentu.ca

 

David Gallop

dgallop2@gmail.com

 

Christine McKinnon

Professor Emeritus
B.A. (McGill), B.Phil., D.Phil. (Oxford)

cmckinnon@trentu.ca

Research Interests: Moral Philosophy; Philosophy of Mind; Wittgenstein

 

 

 

Michael Neumann

mneumann@trentu.ca

 

Lionel Rubinoff

lrubinoff@trentu.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

Academic Administrative Assistant

 

Kathy Axcell

kaxcell@trentu.ca