expand search

Leadership & Governance

Trees in front of Otonabee College with orange and green leaves on a fall day.

Leadership & Governance


Bicameral Governance

Trent University has a bicameral system of governance. The authority and responsibilities of our two governing bodies, the Board of Governors and the Senate, are delineated in the Trent Act. Both governing bodies are supported by the University Secretariat.

Composition of Senate

Maximum number of voting members allowed by Senate By-law = 51

Ex-officio Members (voting)

  • Chancellor                
  • President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Provost and Vice-President Academic
  • Vice-President, Research and International
  • Deans and Associate Deans (7)
  • University Librarian
  • Associate Vice-President, Students

Elected Members (voting)

  • 12 members of Faculty Council (4 per division)
  • 12 chairs of departments and programs (normally 4 per division)
  • 8 undergraduate students from residential colleges (2 per college)
  • 1 undergraduate student from Trent, Oshawa & other off campus             
  • 1 undergraduate student from part-time students, Peterborough
  • 1 graduate student

Official Visitors of Senate (non-voting)

  • University Registrar  
  • 1 TUFA representative
  • 1 CUPE 1 representative (part-time faculty)
  • 1 CUPE 2 representative (student employees)          
  • 1 OPSEU staff representative
  • 1 exempt staff representative
  • 1 member of the alumni
  • Up to 2 representatives from the Board of Governors

Senate Executive Composition

  • 17 members, including one non-voting (chosen by and from among the members of Senate)
  • President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Provost and Vice-President Academic
  • Chair, Academic Planning and Budget Committee
  • Chair, Graduate Studies Committee
  • Chair, Undergraduate Studies Committee & Teaching and Learning Support Committee 
  • Chair, Research Policy Committee
  • Chair, Undergraduate Academic Policy Committee
  • University Registrar (non-voting) 
  • 6 members of Faculty Council (2 per division)
  • 3 students

Nomination Form
- Official Visitor to Senate (Exempt Staff Only) and University Honours Subcommittee (OPSEU/Exempt)