Bicameral Governance

Trent University has a bicameral system of governance. The authority and responsibilities of our two governing bodies, the Board of Governors and the Senate, are delineated in the Trent Act. Both governing bodies are supported by the University Secretariat.

Composition of Senate

Maximum number of voting members allowed by Senate By-law = 51

Ex-officio Members (voting)

President and Vice-Chancellor

Provost and Vice-President Academic

Vice-President, Research and International

Deans and Associate Deans (7)

University Librarian

Associate Vice-President, Students

Elected Members (voting)

12 members of Faculty Council (4 per division)

12 chairs of departments and programs (normally 4 per division)

8 undergraduate students from residential colleges (2 per college)

1 undergraduate student from Trent, Oshawa & other off campus             

1 undergraduate student from part-time students, Peterborough

1 graduate student

Official Visitors of Senate (non-voting)

University Registrar  

1 TUFA representative

1 CUPE 1 representative (part-time faculty)

1 CUPE 2 representative (student employees)          

1 OPSEU staff representative

1 exempt staff representative

1 member of the alumni

1 representative from the Board of Governors

Senate Executive Composition

17 members, including one non-voting

(chosen by and from among the members of Senate)
President and Vice-Chancellor
Provost and Vice-President Academic

Chair, Academic Planning and Budget Committee

Chair, Graduate Studies Committee

Chair, Undergraduate Studies Committee & Teaching                                    and Learning Support Committee
Chair, Research Policy Committee

Chair, Undergraduate Academic Policy Committee

University Registrar (non-voting)
6 members of Faculty Council (2 per division)
3 students


August 17, 2017