Text Only Page



Trent University Recognizes Top International Students at Annual Awards


Graduating Student from Brazil Wins Top Honours at Weekend Event

Monday, April 2, 2007, Peterborough

On Saturday, March 31, Ricardo Tranjan, a fourth-year student from Sao Paulo, Brazil was presented with the prestigious Jack Matthews Award at the Trent International Program (TIP) formal and banquet, held annually to recognize international students and outstanding accomplishments in Trent University’s international community.
Mr. Tranjan was presented with the Jack Matthews Award, named in honour of the founding director of the Trent International Program, in recognition of his outstanding commitment and contributions to internationalization, both locally and globally.

“Ricardo has reached the heights to which Trent students can aspire,” said TIP Director Mike Allcott. “He has consistently promoted the idea and values of internationalization by being involved in dozens of volunteer programs, conferences and projects.”

Throughout his four years at Trent, Mr. Tranjan has lent his support to the leadership initiatives of other students, and put structures in place to ensure the success of all international students. In coordination with TIP and the Peer Mentoring Program of the Academic Skills Centre, he established LearningTogether@Trent, a student-led organization which aims to meet the academic support needs of international students. Moreover, in the past year alone, he has represented the University at two global events – the World Bank Global Forum on Science Technology and Innovation in Washington, DC in February, and the 2007 Education Without Borders student conference held in Abu Dhabi in March. Recently, Mr. Tranjan was awarded the prestigious Balsillie Fellowship and, upon graduation, he will study at The Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), a world-class global research institute focused on the restructuring of international governance.

Three other awards, named after past TIP directors, were also handed out during the awards: the Karanja Njoroge Community Service Award, the David Morrison Award, and the Leonard Conolly Award.

The Karanja Nioroge Community Service Award, given to a student in recognition of his/her active involvement in development education both at Trent and within the wider community, went to Lebogang Mothibatsela. Through HIV/AIDS education and fundraising, cultural outreach activities, radio shows, and rugby, Ms. Mothibatsela has been involved extensively not only on campus but also in the community.

The David Morrison Award, given to upper year students in recognition of substantial involvement at Trent University and the Trent International Program, was presented to Chris Allen, Chris Evelyn, and Syed K. Hussan. Mr. Allen has been involved in several campus organizations and initiatives, including Trent Word Day. He is also a founder of the new Journal for Undergraduate Studies at Trent (JUST), which will review and publish the research work of Trent students. Mr. Evelyn was recognized for his contributions to a number of campus initiatives, including the TIP World Affairs Colloquiums, World AIDS Day celebrations, and Trent World Day. Recognized for a passion for creating change, Mr. Hussan has led dozens of anti-racism/anti-oppression trainings for campus and community groups.

Kayembe Tshikele was honoured with the Leonard Conolly Award, which recognizes outstanding commitment and contribution to the support of refugee students. Originally from the Congo, Mr. Tshikele is now a Canadian permanent resident, and has established himself as a leadership presence on the Trent campus by leading several committees and successful initiatives, including a clothing drive for the Youth Emergency Shelter.

Other awards presented at the 2006 TIP Formal, were as follows:
The Hulcoop Prize, named in honour of a retired Trent staff member who opens her home and heart to international students, was awarded to first-year student Rocky Bosomwa for making an outstanding mark on Trent’s international community.

The Exchange Award, given to an exchange or year-abroad student who contributes significantly to international life at Trent, was presented to Scott Hilditch from the United Kingdom, and Vincent Haney from Ontario, both strong ambassadors for the Study Abroad program.

Megan Saxby, who grew up in East Africa, won the Deb Gelderland Award, presented to a continuing Canadian student. The Continuing International Student Award went to Nusrat Mutmainnah, co-chair of the Trent International Student Association (TISA).

The ESL Award, presented to someone in ESL who has made a positive contribution to the ESL program, TIP, the Trent community, and/or wider community, went to Jeong Keun (Johnny) Ko.

Finally, the Robert Campbell Friends of TIP Award, which recognizes a member of the faculty, staff, or wider Peterborough community for enriching the international programming of the University and/or the experience of Trent’s international students, was presented to Professor Ray Dart. As head of Peter Gzowski College, Prof. Dart has effectively encouraged both the inclusion of international students in all college activities, and has also led Canadians to take full advantage of the rich benefits and opportunities that international students bring to Trent.


For more information, please contact:
A. Michael Allcott, Ph.D., Director, Trent International Program, (705) 748-1011 x1280