Future Students
Current Students
Faculty & Staff

Calendar of Events

Search the Site

Daily News

Weekly Feature

News Releases

Sporting News

Special Bulletins

Daily News Archives

Weekly Feature Archives

The View from Trent

Trent Magazine

Focus Trent

Build 2000


Queen's-Trent Concurrent Education Program to Present Chemong Public School with 2006 Host School Award


Award will be Presented During a School Assembly on May 12

Wednesday, May 10, 2006, Peterborough

The Queen's-Trent Concurrent Education program will be presenting Chemong Public School with the 2006 Host School Award on Friday, May 12 at 11:30 a.m. during a school assembly.

The Host School Award and the Host Teacher Award were created in 2004 to recognize the contributions of the two Peterborough school boards to the Queen's-Trent Concurrent Education program. Close to 65 per cent of students in years one, two, and three of the program are hosted by either the Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board or the Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board each year.

The Host School Award recognizes the leadership of the principal and vice-principal of the school as well as the friendliness and service provided by the support staff and the encouragement and assistance of the teachers who are not acting as hosts themselves. Nominations for the Host School Award are made by teacher candidates or faculty and staff associated with the Queen's-Trent program.

Chemong Public School was selected as the 2006 Award recipient because, based on a nomination from one teacher candidate, "the teachers at this school exemplified the true meaning of passionate educators" and because "the teachers made a huge effort to create a positive and safe learning and teaching environment for the student teachers as well as the students of the school."

The 2006 Host Teacher Award, which recognizes specific teachers who have mentored concurrent education students, was presented to Jeffrey MacKay, a teacher at James Strath Public School, and Jennifer Wall, a teacher at St. Catherine School, last week.

Past winners of the Host School Award include James Strath Public School (2005) and Keith Wightman Public School (2004). Past winners of the Host Teacher Award are Julie Cullen, a teacher at Queen Mary (2005) and Paul Doig, a teacher at Kenner Collegiate (2004).


For more information, please contact:

  • Sharon Carew, Coordinator, Queen's-Trent Concurrent Education, 748.1011 x7268 or 755.1036
  • Penny Pierce, Principal, Chemong Public School, 292.9594

Return to Trent University Home
Go to Trent University Site Index
A to Z
Maintained by the Communications Office
Last Updated May 10, 2006