expand search


A professor smiling at the camera in a stairwell with concrete walls and a skylight


Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC): The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada was established under an Act of Parliament in 1883 as Canada’s National Academy, the senior collegium of distinguished scholars, artists and scientists in the country. The primary objective of the Society is to promote learning and research in the arts, the humanities and the natural and social sciences. As Canada’s senior National Academy, the RSC, and its members, exist to promote Canadian research and scholarly accomplishment in both of Canada’s official languages, to mentor young scholars and artists, to recognize academic and artistic excellence, and to advise governments, non-governmental organizations, and Canadians generally on matters of public interest.

The Royal Society of Canada is divided in to four different academies. These are the Academy of Science, the Academy of the Arts and Humanities, the Academy of Social Sciences and the College of New Scholars. The members of Trent University who have been elected to the Royal Society include: