expand search

Presidency Review

Look of faryon bridge on a sunny day

Presidency Review

Trent University Presidency Review

Dear Trent Community,

As you know we are undergoing a Review of the Presidency, a standard and important strategic process mandated every 5 years by Trent’s Policy & Procedures and supervised by the Board of Governors.

We have had excellent responses to our online survey along with some direct email input, group sessions and one-on-one meetings.

Overall, it was a very successful information gathering exercise and we received substantial and valuable feedback from our many stakeholders.

The Committee has been working through the information and will be reporting to the Board of Governors shortly with our recommendations.

What has been clearly conveyed, and a common thread throughout, is a strong sense of pride in our University and an optimistic view for our future success.

I want to thank each of you for taking the time to contribute your feedback and insights to this important process.

With appreciation,

Sue Graham Parker, Chair, Advisory Committee to Review the Presidency

Vice-Chair, Trent University Board of Governors


Help Trent Define What Happens Next

A key responsibility of the Trent University Board of Governors is the appointment and review of the President and Vice-Chancellor.  2017-18 marks the penultimate year of President Groarke’s current term as president of Trent University, with the term ending on June 30, 2019. 

The Trent University Board of Governors has established an advisory committee comprised of Board Members, Alumni, Faculty, Staff, Students and Senators to conduct a review of the University presidency over the coming months. The first phase of this review will establish a new presidential mandate for 2019-2024.  Key to the successful development of this new mandate is input from our many University stakeholders, internal and external, to ensure we fully identify the challenges, opportunities and priorities for the next presidential term.

The Review Process

Phase 1 - Development of Presidential Mandate

Phase 2 - Presidential Attributes/Review of Incumbent
Board of Governors establishes an Advisory Committee to Review the Presidency (June 2017) Based on feedback from on-line survey and additional written submissions (if applicable), advisory committee identifies key presidential attributes/profile (February 2018)
Confirm membership, review process and timelines for advisory Committee (June - September 2017) Review of incumbent president (February 2018)
Develop website and on-line survey (early October 2017) Final report to Board of Governors (March 2018)
Launch community consultation process (October - November 2017)  
Development of draft presidential mandate  
Approval of new presidential mandate - Board of Governors (February 2018)  

Your Part in the Review of the Presidency

Key to the success of this review is consultation amongst our many University stakeholders, internal and external, to fully identify the challenges, opportunities and priorities for the next presidential term.

The primary resource to assist the committee in this important work is the  on-line survey.  We strongly encourage you to take the time to complete this survey, either as an individual or based on discussion with colleagues within your department/program. The deadline for survey responses is November 17, 2017. 

NOTE THAT THE ON-LINE SURVEY IS NOW CLOSED. THE PRESIDENCY REVIEW COMMITTEE IS NOW REVIEWING THE FEEDBACK RECEIVED TO INFORM THE DEVELOPMENT OF A PRESIDENTIAL MANDATE FOR 2019-2024.  APPROVAL OF A NEW PRESIDENTIAL MANDATE IS TARGETED FOR FEBRUARY 2017. 

Comments can also be shared directly with the Presidency Review Committee in confidence by e-mailing the chair at presidencyreview@trentu.ca

 

About Trent University

One of Canada's top universities, Trent University was founded on the ideal of interactive learning that's personal, purposeful and transformative. Consistently recognized nationally for leadership in teaching, research and student satisfaction, Trent attracts excellent students from across the country and around the world. Here, undergraduate and graduate students connect and collaborate with faculty, staff and their peers through diverse communities that span residential colleges, classrooms, disciplines, hands-on research, co-curricular and community-based activities.

Across all disciplines, Trent brings critical, integrative thinking to life every day. Today, Trent's unique approach to personal development through supportive, collaborative community engagement is in more demand than ever. Students lead the way by co-creating experiences rooted in dialogue, diverse perspectives and collaboration. In a learning environment that builds life-long passion for inclusion, leadership and social change, Trent's students, alumni, faculty and staff are engaged global citizens who are catalysts in developing sustainable solutions to complex issues.

Trent's Peterborough campus boasts award-winning architecture in a breathtaking natural setting on the banks of the Otonabee River, just 90 minutes from downtown Toronto, while Trent University Durham Greater Toronto Area, delivers a distinct mix of programming in the east GTA.