Trent Press Release


October 18, 2001

Trent Professor named as finalist for Canadian research prize worth up to $1 million

Award honouring Nobel Prize winner Gerhard Herzberg to be announced Nov. 5, 2001

Professor Donald Mackay of Trent University has received yet another honour from the scientific community with the announcement today that he is one of three finalists for the 2001 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering, and will receive an NSERC Award of Excellence.

Announced this morning by Tom Brzustowski, President of NSERC (the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council), the esteemed nomination was extended to Professor Mackay and two other Canadian researchers. The NSERC Herzberg Medal winner, to be named on November 5 in Ottawa, will be provided with up to a million dollars for his own research, or to direct the use of, over five years. The other finalists receive $50,000 each.


Professor Donald Mackay with some Trent students.

Professor Mackay has gained recognition and notoriety for his research in environmental chemistry, in particular the "Mackay Models" which predict the long-term behaviour, fate and distribution of chemicals in the environment. The models are widely used in universities, industry, and national and international government organizations.

Trent University President Bonnie Patterson applauded the nomination of Professor Mackay as one of the finalists for the Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering. "The entire university community extends its congratulations to Professor Mackay today," commented President Patterson. "Today's announcement from NSERC follows close on the heels of the prestigious $130,000 Honda Prize, awarded to Professor Mackay earlier this month. These announcements demonstrate just how meaningful a contribution Professor Mackay's research is to future environmental stewardship. He is an exemplary ambassador of Trent University-a symbol of all we stand for as a liberal arts and science institution."

The two other nominees for the Herzberg Medal are Richard Puddephatt of the University of Western Ontario and David Schindler of the University of Alberta. Of the three candidates, Dr. Brzustowski said: "These are individuals who have made exceptional contributions to knowledge and the country. The finalists have excelled in their research and in their influence in the research community, and one of them will go on to win an award named after one of our greatest science heroes - Dr. Gerhard Herzberg." The Herzberg award was created in honour of Nobel Prize winner Gerhard Herzberg.

- 30 -

Distribution: Peterborough, Regional


Back to Press Releases

Back to Trent's Home Page [TRENT'S CREST]

Maintained by the Communications Department; last updated: October 18, 2001