Trent University logo  
Daily News
Future Students
Current Students
Faculty & Staff

Calendar of Events

Search the Site

Daily News

Weekly Feature

News Releases

Sporting News

Special Bulletins

Daily News Archives

Weekly Feature Archives

The View from Trent

Trent Magazine

Focus Trent


Graduating Student Najim Dost Receives Top Award at TIP Annual Formal

TIP FormalOn April 1 the annual Trent International Program (TIP) formal and banquet was held to recognize international students and outstanding accomplishments in Trent's international community. Picking up on the theme, "Be Internationally Charmed", co-hosts Chris Allen and Agnes Valdimarsdottir spent the evening weaving a magical tale which highlighted a remarkable year at Trent University. The evening was celebrated by honouring several Trent students and members of the international community for their contributions and dedication.

Among those honoured at this year's event was Najim Dost, who received the prestigious Jack Matthews Award, which is named in honour of the founding director of the Trent International Program. This top award is given to a graduating student in recognition of their outstanding commitment and contributions to internationalization, both on a local and global scale.

As an Afghan national on the verge of completing his Trent degree, Mr. Dost has distinguished himself both academically and as a campus leader throughout his four years at Trent, thus making him a perfect candidate for this award.

According to current TIP Director Michael Allcott, who presented Mr. Dost with the award, "[Najim] has the respect and confidence of his fellow students, his Trent professors, and the administrative leadership of this University – from the TIP Director on up to the President."

Three other awards, named after past TIP directors, were also handed out: the Karanja Njoroge Community Service Award, the David Morrison Award, and the Leonard Conolly Award.

The Karanja Njoroge Community Service Award, given to a student in recognition of his/her active involvement in development education both at Trent and within the wider community, went to Ricardo Tranjan. Mr. Tranjan has spent the last year engaged in Trent Centre for Community-Based Education project working with mentally disabled children.

The David Morrison Award, given to an upper year student in recognition of substantial involvement at Trent University and the Trent International Program, was presented to Salma Yarjani. Ms. Yarjani, who held the elected chair position of the Trent Muslim Students Association, will be graduating this year.

Erin Chreptyk was honoured with the Leonard Conolly Award, which is to recognize outstanding commitment and contribution to the support of refugee students. Ms. Chreptyk is local committee chair of the World University Service of Canada.

Other awards presented at the 2006 TIP Formal, are as follows:

The Hulcoop Prize, named in honour of a retired Trent staff member who opens her home and heart to international students, was awarded to first-year student CT Chen for leaving an outstanding mark on the international community.

The Exchange Award, given to an exchange or year-abroad student who contributes significantly to international life at Trent, was presented to Adam Feather, who spent a year abroad to the University of Dundee in Scotland, and to Christine Wender, from the University of Freibourg, Germany.

Patrick Clark, who has had leadership roles in OPIRG and Fair Trade Trent, won the Deb Gelderland Award, presented to a continuing Canadian student. The Continuing International Student Award went to Chris Allen, founder of the new International Arts Week, an event that is now a part of the Trent tradition.

The ESL Award, presented to someone in ESL who has made a positive contribution to the ESL program, TIP, the Trent community, and/or wider community, went to Desmond Liang Uyn Tao.

Finally, the Robert Campbell Friends of TIP Award, which recognizes a member of the faculty, staff, or wider Peterborough community for enriching the international programming of the University and/or the experience of Trent's international students, was presented to David Page. Professor Page, who has served on the Trent International Study and Exchange Program Committee, will retire this year.

Many Trent dignitaries, including VP of Administration, Don O'Leary, Dean of Arts and Science Colin Taylor, Leonard Conolly, the head of Gzowski College, Lady Eaton College Principal Arndt Kruger, Professor David Morrison, and alumnus-in-residence Paul Delaney, were on hand for the Awards. Their attendance helped to draw attention to and to help celebrate the success of students and the international community at Trent University.

Photo: Fausta Capogna, (second from left), Honourary TIP Staff Member and Coordinator of Trent ESL with 3 of her students at the Formal.

Posted April 5, 2006





























Return to Trent University Home
Go to Trent University Site Index
A to Z
Maintained by the Communications Office
Last Updated May 8, 2006