Future Students
Current Students
Faculty & Staff

Calendar of Events

Search the Site

Daily News

News Releases

Sporting News

Special Bulletins

Daily News Archives

Weekly Feature Archives

The View from Trent

Trent Magazine

Focus Trent

Build 2000


Call for Nominations: Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching

Trent students, faculty, alumni and staff are invited to submit individual nominations for the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching to the Instructional Development Centre, Otonabee College.

This Award is named for Professor T.H.B. Symons, the Founding President of Trent University, and is made available through the generous support of Professor and Mrs. Symons. The Award is presented each year to a member of the Trent faculty of staff (full-time or part-time) in recognition of outstanding teaching in the broadest sense and, in the words of Professor Symons, "exemplary concern for students." The Award is made each year at the Spring Convocation. A faculty or staff member may receive the Award only once during his or her career.

The recipient of the Award is determined by the Teaching Awards Sub-committee, which consists of three faculty representatives (voting), one student representative from each of JBCSA, TCSA and GSA (voting), and the Instructional Development Centre Coordinator (secretary, non-voting).

In nominating someone for the Award, nominators will be asked to highlight the skills, abilities and attributes of the candidate that demonstrate effective teaching and exemplary concern for students.

Nomination forms are available at all college, department and program offices, as well as the Bata Library and the TCSA office.

Nominations may also be made online at http://www.trentu.ca/idc/symonsnomination.html.

Previous recipients of the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching are ineligible. Previous recipients include:

2003-2004: Eric Helleiner (International Development Studies)
2002-2003: David Page (Ancient History & Classics)
2001-2002: Paul Wilson (Athletics Department)
2000-2001: Richard Hurley (Computer Science/Studies)
1999-2000: Sarah Keefer (English Literature)
1998-1999: Susan Wurtele (Geography)
1997-1998: Deborah Parnis (Sociology)
1996-1997: Jim Sutclife (Biology)
1995-1996: Christl Verduyn (Canadian Studies)
1994-1995: David Poole (Mathematics)
1993-1994: Robert Campbell (Political Studies)
1992-1993: Stephen Brown (English Literature)
1991-1992: Alan Slavin (Physics)
1990-1991: Morton Berkowitz (English Literature)
1988-1989: Joan Sangster (Women's Studies)
1987-1988: Alan Wilson (History)
1987-1988: Deborah Berrill (Education)
1986-1987: Marion Fry (Philosophy)
1986-1987: Robert Carter (Philosophy)
1985-1986: John Milloy (Native Studies)
1984-1985: Robert Page (Environmental & Resource Studies/Science)
1983-1984: Constantin Boundas (Philosophy)
1982-1983: Fred Wheatley (Native Studies)
1981-1982: John Syrett (History)
1980-1981: Fred Tromly (English Literature)
1979-1980: Iswar Chakravartty (Mathematics)
1978-1979: James Jury (Physics)
1978-1979: Stuart Robson (History)
1977-1978: Michael Berrill (Biology)
1976-1977: John Wadland (Canadian Studies)

For more information about the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching contact:

Angie Best
Secretary, Teaching Awards Committee
E-mail: angiebest@trentu.ca
Phone: 748-1011, ext. 1254

Posted January 14, 2005

Return to Trent University Home
Go to Trent University Site Index
A to Z
Maintained by the Communications Office
Last Updated February 21, 2005