Trent University logo  
Daily News

Calendar of Events

Search the Site

Daily News

News Releases

Sporting News

Special Bulletins

Daily News Archives

Weekly Feature Archives

The View from Trent

Trent Magazine

Focus Trent

Build 2000

Call for Nominations: Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching

Trent students, faculty, alumni, and staff are invited to nominate individuals from the University community for the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching.

This award is named after Professor T.H.B. Symons, the founding president of Trent University, and is made possible through the generous support of Professor and Mrs. Symons. The award, which recognizes outstanding teaching and exemplary concern for students, is presented each year at spring convocation to a member of the Trent University community, and consists of $1,000 and a framed notation.

The recipient of the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching is determined by the Teaching Awards Committee, which consists of three faculty representatives (voting), one student representative from each of JBCSA, TCSA and GSA (voting), and the Instructional Development Centre Coordinator (secretary, non-voting). In nominating someone for the award, nominators will be asked to reflect on what they consider to be the main qualities of effective teaching, and why their nominated candidate deserves the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching. Nominators will be asked to discuss the skills, abilities, and attributes that contribute to the exemplary teaching of their chosen candidate, and how that candidate has demonstrated commitment to, and provided a positive impact on, students' learning experience at Trent University.

All members of the University community are eligible for this award; for example, candidates could be an advisor, colleague, don, faculty member (full- or part-time), staff member, teaching assistant, workshop leader, tutorial leader, or peer.

Nomination forms are available at the following locations and should be mailed to the Instructional Development Centre by Friday, February 27, 2004.

- Department/Program Offices
- College offices
- Bata Library
- the Central Student and Julian Blackburn student associations
- College Cabinet offices .

Previous recipients of the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching are ineligible; these include:

2002-03: David Page (Ancient History & Classics)
2001-02: Paul Wilson (Athletics Department)
2000-01: Richard Hurley (Computer Science/Studies)
1999-00: Sarah Keefer (English Literature)
1998-99: Susan Wurtele (Geography)
1997-98: Deborah Parnis (Sociology)
1996-97: Jim Sutcliffe (Biology)
1995-96: Christl Verduyn (Canadian Studies)
1994-95: David Poole (Mathematics)
1993-94: Robert Campbell (Political Studies)
1992-93: Stephen Brown (English Literature)
1991-92: Alan Slavin (Physics)
1990-91: Morton Berkowitz (English Literature)
1988-89: Joan Sangster (Women's Studies)
1987-88: Alan Wilson (History)
1987-88: Deborah Berrill (Education)
1986-87: Marion Fry (Philosophy)
1986-87: Robert Carter (Philosophy)
1985-86: John Milloy (Native Studies)
1984-85: Robert Page (Environmental and Resource Science/Studies)
1983-84: Constantin Boundas (Philosophy)
1982-83: Fred Wheatley (Native Studies)
1981-82: John Syrett (History)
1980-81: Fred Tromly (English Literature)
1979-80: Iswar Chakravartty (Mathematics)
1978-79: James Jury (Physics)
1978-79: Stuart Robson (History)
1977-78: Michael Berrill (Biology)
1976-77: John Wadland (Canadian Studies)

For more information about the Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching contact:

Angie Best
Secretary, Teaching Awards Committee &
Coordinator, Instructional Development Centre
Otonabee College, 221.1

Posted January 23, 2004

Return to Trent University Home
Go to Trent University Site Index
A to Z
Maintained by the Communications Office
Last Updated June 24, 2003