Top Students Awarded Biology Department Scholarships

November 27, 2017

Biology, Biomedical & Biochemistry students receive a combined $14, 800 in scholarships & prizes

Biology, Biomedical & Biochemistry students receive a combined $14, 800 in scholarships & prizes

"Trent has provided me opportunities which I wouldn't have dreamed of. Specifically, in the Biology program, where I have had the chance to work with kind, brilliant and wise professors like Dr. Robert J.Huber, Dr. Marguerite Xenopoulos, and Dr. Carolyn Kapron,” says student Sabateeshan (Saby)  Matharavjah, an award recipient of the 2017 Jean McKerracher Scholarship. “It's been a tremendous ride, and I hope to take what I have learned at Trent to the next stage of my life.”

At the annual ceremony for Biology, Biomedical and Biochemistry on November 1, 2017, students were awarded a combined $14,800 in scholarships and prizes. This year’s award winner included:

  • Dayton Kelly and Sabateeshan (Saby) Matharavjah received the Jean McKerracher Scholarship aimed at students intending to pursue a career in health services
  • Rubab Fatima, Maimoona Altaf, and Audrey Shakespeare received the Dr. The Charles Omole Scholarships for students intending to become medical doctors; all of whom are currently taking the medical internship course and shadowing physicians at PRHC
  • Peter Silk, Madeline Trottier and Ken Mills received the Roy L Edwards Scholarship
  • Jenna Vander Velden and Laura Cota-Merlo received the Biology department scholarships which recognize high academic achievement
  • Alexandra Hjort-Toms and Justin Werner received the Powles Prizes for excellence in fish biology
  • Ryan Holt received the Botany Prize
  • Sarah Hunter received the Goodhead Prize
  • Glinton Hanover, Dmitry Shiryaev, Zakhar Krekhno, and Jacob Houpt – book prizes for the Biology Department for high academic achievement in third-year
  • Hailey Guertin, Neelkumar Patel, Amanda Roy, Denin Gray, and Tonya-Leah Watts - book prizes for second-year achievement
  • Emily Horsey, Samuel Murray, Roselle Wright, Regan Caldwell, and Prahamya Balaranjan – book prizes for outstanding achievement in first year

On behalf of the Biology department, we congratulate all of the award winners and thank them for their hard work. We wish them all the best in the future.