Skip to main content

Celebrating 50 Years of Welcoming New Alumni: Trent University to Honour More than 1,700 Graduates at 2017 Convocation

June 1, 2017

Convocation highlights include 50th anniversary of convocation at Trent and first graduates from the Biomedical Science program and Marketing & Entrepreneurship postgraduate certificate

A line of graduating students standing in a row in their convocation gowns, waving at the camera

Celebrating 50 years of welcoming new alumni, Trent University will host students, families, faculty and special guests from across Canada and around the world to mark the accomplishments of its newest graduates at the 2017 convocation ceremonies from Tuesday, June 6 to Friday, June 9, 2017 in Peterborough.

Highlights of Trent’s 2017 convocation ceremonies in Peterborough include the first graduates from the new Biomedical Science program, and the new Marketing & Entrepreneurship postgraduate certificate program. This year will also mark the 50th anniversary of convocation at Trent University. 

During the ceremonies, the University will bestow honorary degrees upon seven outstanding individuals who will be recognized for their extraordinary contributions to academic life at Trent and to society as a whole, including: Fiona Sampson, a fierce advocate for social justice; Keith Knott, champion of First Nations communities; The Honourable Jean Augustine, a groundbreaking educator; John and Thea Patterson, distinguished international philanthropists; the Right Honourable Paul Martin, Canada’s 21st prime minister; and Steven Poloz, governor of the Bank of Canada. The honorary degree recipients will each address graduates at their respective ceremonies. Additional special speakers include Dr. Don Tapscott, chancellor of Trent University, and Dr. Deborah Kennett, the winner of the University’s 2017 Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching.

This year, across both campuses, Trent University will honour 1,792 members of the 2017 graduating class. Over the course of four days and seven ceremonies in Peterborough, a total of 1,568 undergraduate students will receive their degree, with 17 receiving a diploma or certificate. Statistics from the Office of the Registrar for undergraduate studies show 33 per cent of this year’s graduates are named to the honour roll. Trent will also bestow degrees upon 100 graduate students, with 20 students receiving doctorates and 80 receiving master’s degrees. Of this year’s graduate students, 43 are completing degrees in the arts and 57 in the sciences.

During the 2017 Peterborough convocation ceremonies, Trent will also honour several of its most accomplished students with special awards:

  • The Governor General’s Academic Medal to reward scholastic merit was established in 1873 by the Earl of Dufferin who served as Governor General of Canada from 1872 to 1878. The Silver Medal and Gold Medal are awarded to the students with the highest academic standing in the undergraduate and graduate programs, respectively.
  • The President's Medal, established in 2009, will be awarded to three graduate students who achieved academic excellence in several degree programs.
  • The Symons Medal, established in 1972 in honour of Trent’s founding president T.H.B. Symons, will be awarded to four undergraduate students in the Honours program who achieve high overall standing on graduation.
  • The Bagnani Medal, established in 1986 to honour the late founding faculty member Professor Gilbert Bagnani, will be awarded to two students in the General program who achieve high overall standing on graduation.

Watch the live web-cast of the ceremonies or follow on Twitter and Facebook and add your own comments and photos during the ceremonies by using the hashtag #TrentConvo.

A detailed breakdown of each convocation ceremony in Peterborough is as follows:

Tuesday, June 6, 2017 – 10:00 a.m. ceremony:

All degrees will be conferred for Psychology and Sociology. The Symons Award for Excellence in Teaching will also be presented to Dr. Deborah Kennett at this ceremony.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017 – 2:00 p.m. ceremony:

Degrees will be conferred for Ancient Greek & Roman Studies, Canadian Studies, Cultural Studies, English Literature, Arts and Science, French Studies, Gender & Women’s Studies, History, Journalism, Media Studies and Philosophy. Also at this ceremony: an honorary degree will be conferred upon Fiona Sampson and the Eminent Service Award will be presented to Professor Elizabeth Popham and Kathy Fife.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 – 10:00 a.m. ceremony:

Degrees will be conferred for Environmental Science/Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Ecological Restoration, Environmental and Resource Science/Studies, Environmental Chemistry, Geography, Indigenous Studies, Indigenous Environmental Studies, International Development Studies, Political Studies and Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems. Diplomas for the Foundations of Indigenous Learning program will also be presented. Also at this ceremony: Keith Knott will be presented with an honorary degree and graduates, Kristy Bowie and Cheyanne Degagne will be presented with a Symons medal.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017 – 2:00 p.m. ceremony:

Degrees will be conferred for Forensic Science, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Biology, Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Mathematical Physics, and Physics. Also at this ceremony, chancellor of Trent University, Dr. Don Tapscott, will give the convocation address, Eliza McColl will be presented with the Silver Governor General’s Academic medal, Alyssa Brown will be presented with the Symons medal, and Shelby Potier will be presented with the Bagnani medal.

Thursday, June 8, 2017 – 10:00 a.m. ceremony:

Degrees will be conferred for Business Administration and join degrees in Business Administration, Computing Systems, Economics, Information Systems, Mathematical Computer Science, and Mathematics. Certificates for the Human Resources Management program and the Marketing & Entrepreneurship program will also be presented. Also at this ceremony: an honorary degree will be conferred upon the Honourable Jean Augustine, and the Symons medal will be presented to David Shadlock.

Thursday, June 8, 2017 –2:00 p.m. ceremony:

Nursing degrees will be conferred. John and Thea Patterson will also receive an honorary degree.

Friday, June 9, 2017 –10:00 a.m. ceremony:

Doctoral degrees, Master of Art and Master of Science degrees, and Bachelor of Education degrees will be conferred. Also at this ceremony: the Right Honourable Paul Marin will receive an honorary degree, Dr. David Sheinin will be presented with the Distinguished Research award, the Governor General Gold Medal will be awarded to Julia Maureen Smith, and the President’s Medals will be awarded to Tyler Jamieson, Amalia Moir, and Theresa Stotesbury.

Detailed information on the 2017 convocation ceremonies

The second distinct convocation ceremony honouring 124 graduates of Trent University Durham – GTA will take place at the Ajax Convention Centre on Wednesday, June 14, 2017.