expand search
FPHL Department team holding paddles and posing for a group photo in the FPHL Gathering Space



Aboriginal Education Council

The Aboriginal Education Council (AEC) at Trent University is comprised of Indigenous community members, faculty/staff/students from Trent University and other stakeholders. The AEC ensures that the university engages the Indigenous community in a meaningful way, and that the needs of the community are being met.

Trent's AEC was formed in 1993 and it's played a large part in creating and introducing new programing like the Indigenous Studies PhD program, Indigenous Studies/Canadian Studies M.A., Indigenous Environmental Studies program and had major input into building Enweying/First Peoples House of Learning, among many other major accomplishments.

The AEC is comprised of the following community organizations:

Curve Lake First Nation, Hiawatha First Nation, Alderville First Nation, Scugog First Nation, Tyendinaga First Nation, Nogojiwanong Friendship Centre, Niijkiwendidaa Anishnaabekwewag Services Circle, Metis Nation of Ontario, Georgina Island First Nation, Rama First Nation, Peterborough and District Wapiti Metis Council.

The current co-chairs are:

Faculty Co-Chair:David Newhouse

Community Co-Chair: TBA

For more information or to contact the council or chairs, please email the AEC Secretary, Brenda Maracle-O'Toole. (brotoole@trentu.ca)

>> Download the AEC's Terms of Reference