Trent University Frost Centre for Canadian Studies and Indigenous Studies Governance & Operation

Approved by FC Grad Exec April 27, 2017

GOVERNANCE and MEMBERSHIP

- The Frost Centre for Canadian Studies and Indigenous Studies (hereafter the Frost Centre) is part of the School for the Study of Canada (SSC). The Frost Centre operates under all applicable provisions of the current Collective Agreement between TUFA and the Trent University Board of Governors. It is governed by the policies applicable to it under the policies of the Senate of Trent University, the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC) and the SSC governance document.
- 2. The Frost Centre is responsible for the education and experience of Frost Centre students. It administers the M.A. in Canadian Studies and Indigenous Studies and the joint Trent-Carleton Ph.D. in Canadian Studies at Trent.
- 3. The Frost Centre is bound by policies adopted for its governance and operation by the Frost Centre Graduate Executive Committee (EC). The Frost Centre EC may amend its own policies as it sees fit, subject to its own procedures and subject, as necessary, to the approval of the GSC and Senate. The Director will take direction from the Frost Centre EC on matters of governance, policy, and the overall operation of the Frost Centre. When deemed necessary, the Director in consultation with the Board will consult the SSC, the FC faculty and student membership on specifically identified matters. The Graduate Dean will also be consulted as needed on any proposed policy changes and personnel matters.
- 4. There are three categories of membership in the Frost Centre: regular faculty, ie Trent tenured and tenure-stream faculty; adjunct faculty, ie emertii, adjunct and limited term faculty, and current students in the MA and PhD programs (hereafter student members). The policy on faculty appointments outlines the terms of appointment for the first two categories.
- 5. The Frost Centre EC is comprised of the Director of the Frost Centre; the Director of the SSC (or the Canadian Studies undergraduate program coordinator if the Director of the SSC and Frost Centre are the same person); the Director of the Graduate Indigenous Studies Program; one student representative from the MA program; one student representative from the PhD program; and four faculty members-at-large drawn from the pool of tenure-stream Frost Centre faculty members, two associated with each graduate program.

- 6. Student representatives will be chosen by the student body, usually through the Frost Centre Students Association. Students can serve for no more than two years for an MA student and no more than three years for a doctoral student. The Graduate Director will poll faculty involved in both graduate programs, securing nominations that ensure that the two faculty members-at-large elected to the EC are representative of different Schools, Programs or Departments. If there are more than four nominations a ballot will be conducted by the Director of the Frost Centre. In addition, the Director of the School will have the discretion of appointing one member involved in the graduate programs to the Executive if he or she determines that such an appointment will usefully balance the composition of the EC.
- 7. The Frost Centre is administered by the Director who is assisted by an Administrative Assistant. The Director is nominated by a search committee recommended by the EC and convened under the auspices of the Graduate Dean in accordance with rules concerning Graduate Directors and the Collective Agreement. The term of appointment for the Director normally ranges from three to five years, depending on the agreement they reached with the Dean of Graduate Studies.
- 8. A quorum for the meetings of the Frost Centre Board is three members. There are no proxy votes. Motions concerning major policy and governance issues should be circulated three days in advance of a Board meeting. Decisions are simple majority vote with the Director voting in the case of a tie.
- 9. There will be one annual general meeting of the Frost Centre faculty. Any major modifications to either the MA or PhD must be presented to the annual meeting for discussion and approval.

COMMITTEES

- 10. There shall be four sub-committees of the Frost Centre EC which act as advisory bodies to the EC and Director. The Director is ex officio on all committees.
 - a. The Curriculum Committee:
 - The Curriculum Committee shall advise the Director on matters concerning curriculum policy and procedures in the Frost Centre in relation to Frost Centre courses. It reviews new courses and major course revisions. It should include three members: two faculty and one student member from the MA or PhD program. The faculty appointments to the Curriculum Committee should have taught/be teaching courses for the Frost Centre. Student members are to be selected by the current Frost Centre student body.

b. Admissions Committees:

There will be two Admissions Committees in the Frost Centre: the MA Admissions Committee and the PhD Admissions Committee. The PhD Admissions Committee may also serve as the Trent-Carleton doctoral governance committee which oversees all policy for the PhD. Each Committee has three members, selected by the Director with attention to representation from the Humanities and Social Sciences and spread across departments, program and schools. There will be no student members. Membership of these committees will be limited to faculty actively involved either as supervisors or committee members for Frost Centre graduate students. The MA Admissions Committee will include members from both Canadian Studies and Indigenous Studies dimensions of the Frost Centre. The PhD Admissions Committee members should have been actively involved as PhD supervisors/committee members for students in the Frost Centre. Terms on these committees will normally be for a maximum of up to three years. The Director will work to ensure that there is some continuity in membership from one year to the next. Guidelines for assessing applications are listed under a separate policy. These will be made available to the Admissions committees prior to their review of applications.

c. Appointments Committee:

This committee will review all applications for membership in the Frost Centre (in both faculty categories) and make recommendations through the Director to the EC. If the EC also approves the application, it will be forwarded to the GSC appointments committee. The policies which guide such appointments are in Appendix B. The committee will meet as needed prior to EC meetings.

d. Trent-Carleton PhD Committee

An advisory committee for the Trent-Carleton PhD program will be struck each year at Trent. Two members actively involved in the PhD program and one PhD student member, selected by the students, will be appointed to this committee. This Committee meets yearly with their counterpart at Carleton to discuss matters of policy and process for the PhD program. The Director will report at the first opportunity to the Frost Centre EC on any policy decisions recommended by this joint committee. Policy changes should be approved by the EC. If the EC does not want to accept policy decisions recommended by the joint committee, they will ask the joint committee for further consultation or make recommendations for alteration to the proposed policy. The Graduate Dean will also be consulted as needed on any proposed policy changes.