faculty
faculty

Faculty:

 

Leo Groarke

Professor;

Trent University President and Vice-Chancellor

 

 

Ancient Philosophy;

Social and Political Philosophy;

Informal Logic;

Argumentation Theory

 

Michael Hickson

Assistant Professor

 

 

Early Modern Philosophy;

Epistemology (especially skepticism);

Ethics

 

Moira Howes

Associate Professor;

Dean of Arts and Science

(Humanities Division)

 

 

Philosophy of Science (especially biology); Epistemology;
Metaphysics;
Practical Reasoning

Douglas McDermid

Associate Professor

 

Metaphysics;
Epistemology;
Modern Philosophy

 

Christine McKinnon

Professor

 

 

Moral Philosophy;
Philosophy of Mind;
Wittgenstein

 

Kathryn Norlock

Associate Professor;

Kenneth Mark Drain Endowed Chair in Ethics

 

 

Ethics;

Feminist philosophy;

Environmental philosophy;

Sociopolitical issues

Byron Stoyles

Associate Professor;

Department Chair

 

 

Ancient Philosophy;

Ethical Theory;

Applied Ethics;

Death and end-of-life issues

 

 

2016-17 Sessional Faculty:

 

Marc Champagne

Assistant Professor

 

 

Philosophy of Mind;

Philosophy of Signs (Semiotics);

American Philosophy

 

James Connelly

Assistant Professor

Oshawa Campus

 

 

Philosophy of Language; 

Wittgenstein;

Early Analytic Philosophy

 

Karen Robertson

Assisant Professor

 

19th- and 20th-century Continental; Social and Political Philosophy;

Ethics;

Aesthetics

 

 

2016-17 Part-Time Instructors 

 

Professors Emeriti

 

Constantin V. Boundas

 

 

cboundas@cogeco.ca

John W. Burbidge

 

johnwburbidge@gmail.com

 

Robert Carter

 

rcarter@trentu.ca

David Gallop

 

dgallop2@gmail.com

Michael Neumann

 

mneumann@trentu.ca

Lionel Rubinoff

lrubinoff@trentu.ca

 

Academic Administrative Assistant

 

Kathy Axcell

 kaxcell@trentu.ca