Trent University Announces 2009 Community Leaders Awards


Program Honours Outstanding Individuals and
Creates Student Bursaries in their Names

Tuesday, September 15, 2009, Peterborough

Trent University today announced the winners of the 2009 Community Leaders Awards in three categories: Goodith Heeney for the Trent University Award for Community Leadership; Norman Vandenberg for the Trent University Award for Leadership Through Education; and Lewis Schofield for the Trent University Award for Youth Leadership.

Awarded every other year, Trent University’s Community Leaders Awards Program recognizes and celebrates outstanding members of the community who have made significant contributions toward the betterment of the Greater Peterborough Region. These awards uniquely honour individuals who have made a world of difference through both their field of expertise and through community involvement.

The Community Leaders Awards provide a special opportunity for the community to celebrate the contribution of individuals through the creation of an endowed student bursary in their honour. These bursaries will support Trent University students in their academic pursuits based on criteria developed by the individual Community Leaders Award winners.

A selection committee comprised of local community members evaluated nominations and selected the winners. Award recipients must be a living past or present resident of Peterborough. Community Leaders Awards were presented to the following individuals who have helped strengthen the community through their professional expertise and through community involvement:

Trent University Award for Community Leadership - 2009 Recipient – Goodith Heeney
The Trent University Award for Community Leadership recognizes individuals who have made a significant difference to the wellbeing of the community. Mrs. Heeney’s great friendship and volunteer service have led to the establishment of the Ontario Early Years Centre and Hospice Peterborough. Goodith has been the Founding Chairperson for “Friends of Kinark” for over a decade, is a Community Advisor for YWCA Crossroads Safe Haven Campaign, and leads the Community Lunch Program for St. John’s Anglican Church.

Trent University Award for Leadership Through Education - 2009 Recipient – Norman Vandenberg
The Trent University Award for Leadership Through Education recognizes exemplary commitment to the community through formal or informal education. Norman Vandenberg is a history teacher at Norwood District High School. Twice nominated for a Governor General’s Award in 2002 and 2003, he is responsible for the creation of the American Civil War and War of 1812 Reenactment programs that operate on alternating years. Mr. Vandenberg has been bringing awareness of history not only to his students but to the entire local community since 1991.

Trent University Award for Youth Leadership - 2009 Recipient – Lewis Schofield
The Trent University Award for Youth Leadership recognizes individuals under the age of 25 who play a leading role in their community. Lewis Schofield educates youth and adults globally about Autism, Asperger’s Syndrome and Myasthenia Gravis, a rare and complex neuromuscular autoimmune disease for which there is no cure. Mr. Schofield raises money for Autism organizations in Canada and the United States while promoting awareness, tolerance and acceptance of difference through his artwork, writings and videos in the classroom, in the community and on the internet. Mr. Schofield is 14 years old and has Asperger Syndrome and Myasthenia Gravis.

To accelerate the establishment of the student bursaries in honour of the Community Leaders Award winners, donors can take advantage of the Ontario Trust for Student Support Program (OTSS). Established by the Government of Ontario in 2005, OTSS matches endowed donations on a dollar-for-dollar basis to provide bursaries and awards to Ontario students.

On October 26 2009, Trent University will host a gala event to pay tribute to the 2009 winners. More information is available about the awards at


For further information, please contact:
Marilyn Burns, director, Marketing & Communications (705) 748-1011 ext. 6184