Text Only Page



Canadian Studies Student Receives 2008 Robert W.F. Stephenson Award


Jonathan Pinto Honoured with Prestigious Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Student Governance

Monday, June 23, 2008, Peterborough

The 2008 Robert W.F. Stephenson Prize for Excellence in Student Governance has been awarded to Jonathan Pinto, a third-year Canadian Studies student at Trent who is greatly involved in a number of University committees and organizations.

"I'm extremely honoured to have received this award, and I'm humbled to have been nominated by four distinguished faculty members,” said Mr. Pinto, who was presented with the award during the 2008 Alumni Awards, held at Trent University on June 21. “This award truly means a lot to me, and I'm very grateful."

The Robert W.F. Stephenson Prize for Excellence in Student Governance was established by the Alumni Association in honour of Robert Stephenson upon the completion of his term as chair of Trent University’s Board of Governors. Mr. Stephenson was the first alumnus to hold the position of chair. Valued at $250, the prize was first awarded in 1995.

In his nomination letter for Mr. Pinto, Trent Canadian Studies Professor John Wadland said, “Having known Robert Stephenson as a Trent student, as an active participant in student affairs, and as a committed member of our Board of Governors, I can think of no one among the present generation of students who better embodies his ideals of service and integrity than Jonathan Pinto…He demonstrates not only extraordinary leadership skills but also a commitment to academic excellence. He cares deeply for this University and understands that the sense of community which is its glue will only survive if students throw their hats in the ring and take responsibility.”

Since arriving at Trent only two years ago, Mr. Pinto, a Peterborough native, has already made an impressive mark on the University and in the Peterborough community. At Trent, he has served as Lady Eaton College TCSA commissioner and as LEC junior senator. He was also a member of the Non Academic Misconduct Policy Task Force and the Presidential Review Committee. Currently, Mr. Pinto is LEC senior senator and chair of the Student Senate Caucus; he is also president of the Trent Annual Yearbook Board of Directors, director of the PRCSA (Sadleir House) Board of Directors, and a restaurant critic for Arthur newspaper.

In addition, Mr. Pinto also plays critical roles on several committees outside of Trent, including: president of the Peterborough Federal Liberal Youth Association; central region coordinator for the Ontario Young Liberals; and member of the Downtown Countdown (Peterborough's non-alcoholic New Year’s Eve festival) planning committee.

Speaking of Mr. Pinto in another nomination letter, Trent faculty member Melanie Buddle said, “I have taught a variety of students who are involved in student governance but none with the breadth and variety of experience indicated by Jonathan's involvement. He serves his communities in many ways and manages to be a stellar student as well.”

Earlier this year, Mr. Pinto was also awarded the Dave French Award by his fellow students. This award is presented to a student who demonstrates strong leadership and determination throughout the year within LEC. The winner also represents LEC outstandingly within the whole Trent Community in a responsible and respectful manner.

In 2007, Mr. Pinto was the recipient of the McCalla Standen Award, a $100 prize given by LEC and presented annually to a first-year student of the college who has distinguished her/himself through contributions made to the life of the College community while maintaining a good academic record.


For more information, please contact:
Tony Storey, director of alumni affairs, Trent University, (705) 748-1599; or
Jonathan Pinto, (705) 868-5353.