Text Only Page



Trent University Announces Community Leaders Awards


New Annual Program to Honour Outstanding Individuals
By Creating Student Bursary Legacy in their Name

Saturday, September 29, 2007, Peterborough

Today Trent University President and Vice-Chancellor Bonnie M. Patterson announced the creation of the new Trent University Community Leaders Awards during the annual President’s River Reception.

“This new annual awards program recognizes and celebrates outstanding individuals from the Peterborough community who have made significant contributions toward the betterment of our society,” said President Patterson. “These awards are unique by honouring individuals who have made a world of difference through both their field of expertise and through community involvement. They also provide an opportunity to deepen Trent’s connection with Peterborough by engaging our community in a yearly program whereby local figures are both recognized and linked to student success.”

To create a lasting legacy to commemorate the contributions of these individuals, Trent University will establish an endowed student bursary in their honour. These bursaries will support Trent University students in their academic pursuits based on criteria developed by the individual Community Leaders Award winners.

“These awards provide a special opportunity for the community to express their appreciation for these great local citizens by donating to the bursaries in their name,” explained President Patterson. “In this way, we hope to bring the community together to build an enduring legacy that also positively impacts the future by supporting Trent students.”

“In recognition of the excellence embodied in each Community Leader, I am pleased to announce that Trent University will begin the process to build these funds by contributing $6,000 to the program: $1,000 to be allocated to each of the six bursaries in our award winners’ name, inspiring others to recognize these exceptional leaders, and in the process assist Trent students in need,” said President Patterson during the program launch. Today’s event was generously sponsored by Bell Canada.

A selection committee comprised of local business leaders and Trent University representatives evaluated nominations and selected the winners. Award recipients must be a living past or present resident of Peterborough.

Community Leaders Awards were presented in six categories to the following individuals who have helped strengthen the community through their professional expertise and through community involvement:

Arts & Entertainment - 2007 Award Recipient - Wally Macht

Mr. Macht is being recognized for his contributions a successful broadcast journalist and anchorman, and for his outstanding work as an accomplished documentary maker devoted to sharing and preserving the stories that distinguish our great community.

Athletics & Recreation - 2007 Award Recipient - Mollie Cartmell

Trent University is honouring Mollie Cartmell for her dedication to athletics from the local to Olympic levels, as well as for her passion for community service which has had an enormous impact on the people in Peterborough and around the world.

Civic & Community Leadership - 2007 Award Recipient - Chief Keith Knott

Chief Keith Knott is receiving this award for his notable contributions as a champion for First Nations people and as a highly respected leader supporting numerous community projects throughout the region.

Education & Literature - 2007 Award Recipient - Dr. Brian Desbiens

Renowned for his remarkable leadership within the field of education, Dr. Desbiens is also being recognized for is his ability to translate this leadership across several sectors at the community, provincial and national levels. 

Agriculture, Business & Industry - 2007 Award Recipient - The Armstrong Family (Chuck, Kathy, Dave, Alan and John)

One of Peterborough’s most well-established business families, Chuck and Kathy Armstrong and their sons Dave, Alan and John have distinguished themselves as important contributors to the region’s economic prosperity and dedicated supporters of community development activities.

Medicine, Science & Technology - 2007 Award Recipient - Dr. Jenny Ingram

Dr. Jenny Ingram is an extraordinary asset to the Peterborough community, and is being honoured both as a geriatrics expert and as someone with a unique ability to develop community healthcare capacity.

To accelerate the establishment of the student bursaries in honour of the Community Leaders Award winners, donors can take advantage of the Ontario Trust for Student Support Program (OTSS). Established by the Government of Ontario in 2005, OTSS matches endowed donations on a dollar-for-dollar basis to provide bursaries and awards to Ontario students. For example, if a minimum of $6,250 in endowed donations is raised, OTSS will match this amount to establish a $12,500 endowment that produces a permanent bursary of $500 per year. The OTSS matching program ends on March 30, 2008.

In March 2008, Trent University will host a gala event to celebrate the successful completion of the Community Leaders Awards endowments and to pay tribute to the 2007 winners. A call for nominations for the 2008 Trent University Community Leaders Awards will be held later that spring.


For further information, please contact:
Shirlanne Pawley-Boyd, Senior Advancement Director, (705) 748-1011, ext. 7955