Text Only Page



New Student Award Created in Honour of Former Dean of Arts and Science


Established by friends and colleagues, Colin Taylor Award to produce $3,000 yearly award for undergraduate students

Friday, June 8, 2007, Peterborough

Friends and colleagues of Dr. Colin Taylor have paid tribute to the former dean of arts and science by creating a $75,000 endowed fund that will produce a $3,000 per year award for a student registered in his/her final year of any Honours undergraduate program who has improved the intellectual and academic life of the University.

The Colin Taylor Award is the brainchild of current dean of arts and science Dr. Christine McKinnon, who took over for Prof. Taylor in 2006 after he completed two successful terms as dean. Prof. McKinnon suggested the award in November as a means of paying tribute to Prof. Taylor, who started as dean in 1996. The proposal was very well received and, over the course of four months, over $37,500 was raised by Prof. Taylor’s Trent colleagues and friends. The funds have been matched by the Ontario government’s Ontario Trust for Student Support (OTSS) for a total of $75,000. As an endowment, the fund will grow in perpetuity.

“We have all been fortunate to have had such a champion in the Office of the Dean of Arts and Science, and I think the generous support by the faculty of these awards reflects their gratitude and their admiration of his efforts,” said Prof. McKinnon.

In response to the overwhelming support, Prof. Taylor said: "I am deeply honoured that an award of this type has been established in my name, and it is wonderful that friends and colleagues have contributed to it so generously. When combined with matching funds from the OTSS program, this means that over the years many deserving students will receive much-needed financial support. At the personal level this is a wonderful post-script to my years as dean at Trent."

In addition to his terms as dean, the award also pays tribute to Prof. Taylor’s service as a teacher and researcher at Trent and to his other administrative roles, including chair of the Geography Department (1980-84), associate dean of arts and science (1984-88), associate dean of research and graduate studies (1990-95), and acting dean of arts and science for three terms.

The Colin Taylor Award will first be partially available to students in the 2007/2008 academic year. Donations are still being accepted. Those interested in helping to grow this fund are asked to contact Sherry Booth, manager of planned giving and leadership gifts, at (705) 748-1011 x7593.


For more information, please contact:
Dr. Christine McKinnon, dean of arts and science, (705) 748-1011 x1349; or
Dr. Colin Taylor, (705) 748-1011 x7693