One of Canada’s top universities, Trent University is renowned for striking a unique balance between outstanding teaching and leading-edge research. The University is consistently recognized nationally for faculty who maintain a high level of innovative research activity and a deep commitment to the individual student. Distinguished by excellence in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences and increasingly popular professional and graduate programs, Trent is dedicated to providing its students with an exceptional world view, producing graduates who are ready to succeed and make a difference in the world.  Trent’s Peterborough campus boasts award-winning architecture in a breathtaking natural setting on the banks of the Otonabee River. Together with its satellite campus in Oshawa, Trent draws excellent students from throughout the country and around the world.

Trent draws on a team of experienced professionals to provide day-to-day management of the University. This section of our site is designed to provide you with access to, and a better understanding of, the administrative and governing bodies at Trent.

At A Glance

Trent University is governed by two bodies. The Board of Governors is responsible for the government, conduct, management, and control of the University and its property. The University Senate is primarily responsible for educational policy. Members of both governing bodies are volunteers.

The Board appoints Trent's President and Vice-Chancellor who is the chief executive officer of the University. Senate appoints the Chancellor who is the volunteer ceremonial head and confers degrees and diplomas on behalf of Senate at Convocation.

The President/Vice-President Executive Committee (PVP) comprises President and Vice-Chancellor, University Secretariat, Provost and Vice-President (Academic), Vice-President (Finance and Administration), Vice-President (External Relations & Advancement), Vice-President (Research & International).